The Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority

6.47The Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA) was established by the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009, as amended by the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010. On 7 May 2010, responsibility for administering Members' expenses and salaries passed from the House to IPSA. IPSA pays Members' business costs in accordance with a statutory scheme, more details of which are given at paras 4.124.15. IPSA is required to appoint a Compliance Officer to conduct investigations where there is reason to believe that a Member may have been paid an amount under IPSA's scheme that should not have been allowed. Since April 2012, IPSA has been responsible for determining and paying Members' salaries (see paras 4.104.11, 4.44 ). IPSA also has certain responsibilities in respect of the Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund (PCPF) (see para 4.17 ).

The Chair and Members of IPSA are appointed by The Queen on an Address of the House.1 A motion for such an Address may be made only with the agreement of the Speaker, and the persons who are the subject of the motion must have been selected by the Speaker on merit on the basis of fair and open competition, and agreed by the Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.

The Speaker's Committee consists of the Speaker, the Leader of the House and the Chair of the Standards Committee ex officio; five other Members of the House, not being Ministers of the Crown, appointed by the House;2 and three lay members (defined as persons who are not, and have never been, a Member of either House of Parliament) appointed by the House following fair and open competition.3

The Speaker lays IPSA's annual Estimate and Report and Accounts before the House.4


  1. 1. Parliamentary Standards Act 2009, sch 3; CJ (2009–10) 39, 53; Votes and Proceedings, 12 December 2017 and 23 January 2018.
  2. 2. Eg CJ (2010–12) 48; Votes and Proceedings, 31 October 2017.
  3. 3. CJ (2010–12) 400; Votes and Proceedings, 22 January 2015, 25 November 2015, 12 December 2016.
  4. 4. CJ (2010–12) 285; ibid (2009–10) 16; Votes and Proceedings, 14 July 2010; ibid, 16 November 2017, 7 February 2018 and 19 April 2018.