Speaker's personal staff

This paragraph (or sub-paragraphs) have been updated, added or deleted since publication of the 2019 edition. Any sub-paragraphs updated since the 2019 edition can be highlighted by clicking ‘Highlight updates’ below. The most recent updates to this publication were made on August 2021. See the summaries and schedules for each successive update from the Home page.

6.20The Speaker has a personal staff, some of whom are appointed by the Speaker and not by the House of Commons Commission.1 Its principal members are: the Speaker's Secretary and Chief of Staff who is in charge of the Speaker's Office and, besides assisting the Speaker in the House, deals with their official and social relations with Members and outside bodies and persons; two Deputy Chiefs of Staff who focus on Chamber Business and External Affairs; the Speaker's Chaplain, who reads prayers at the beginning of every sitting; and the Trainbearer who attends the Speaker in the Chamber and on ceremonial occasions.


  1. 1. See the House of Commons (Administration) Act 1978, s 2. Although the Speaker has power to appoint staff and determine their tenure of office, other provisions of the Act apply to them.