Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy

41.13The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy was first appointed in 2010 by Commons Standing Order No 152I and an order of the House of Lords to consider the National Security Strategy; 12 Members and 10 Lords Members have been nominated to it.1 The quorum is three Members from each House. Commons membership by convention includes the Chairs of relevant House of Commons select committees (such as the Defence, Foreign Affairs and Home Affairs Committees) and of the statutory Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament.

The committee's terms of reference are to consider the National Security Strategy.2 The sensitive subject nature necessitated the granting of access to some Cabinet Office papers by the Prime Minister in 2013. The committee typically takes oral evidence from the Minister responsible for the implementation of the Strategic Defence and Security Review once a year, along with the National Security Adviser and other senior members of the National Security Secretariat. In 2014, it took evidence from the Prime Minister, who does not usually give evidence to select committees other than the Liaison Committee. Since 2016, the committee has also scrutinised cross-government expenditure and policy in the context of the National Security Strategy.3


  1. 1. CJ (2009–10) 133, LJ (2009–10) 113, 178; and see para 41.4, fn 1 above.
  2. 2. See SO No 152I [HC].
  3. 3. See Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy, Second Report of Session 2016–17, Conflict, Stability and Security Fund, HC 208, HL 105.