Sessional committees

Some paragraphs in this section have been updated, added or deleted since the publication of the current edition. The most recent updates, made July 2021, can be highlighted by clicking ‘Highlight updates’ below. Read a summary and schedule of latest updates here.

40.2Under Standing Order No 63 certain1 committees are appointed on a ‘sessional’ basis: that is, their orders of appointment remain in force from one session to the next throughout a Parliament until the House orders otherwise. Sessional committees are for most practical purposes thus in permanent existence. In addition, the Committee of Selection, though not formally a sessional committee, is reappointed each session. Further committees may be appointed for a fixed period,2 or on an ad hoc basis for specific purposes, and cease to exist when they have performed their appointed task (see below).3


  1. 1. There are currently 18 sessional committees: Communications Committee, Conduct Committee, Consolidation Bills Committee, Constitution Committee, Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee, Economic Affairs Committee, European Union Committee, Finance Committee, Human Rights Committee, Hybrid Instruments Committee, International Relations Committee, National Security Strategy Committee, Procedure and Privileges Committee, Refreshment Committee, Science and Technology Committee, Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee, Services Committee, Standing Orders (Private Bills) Committee and Statutory Instruments Committee.
  2. 2. Committees appointed to consider draft bills are frequently required to report by a certain date: eg the Joint Committee on the draft Investigatory Powers Bill, LJ (2015–16) 484.
  3. 3. See Liaison Committee, Third Report of Session 2005–06, HL 251, LJ (2006–07) 54; and First Report of Session 2010–12, HL 6, LJ (2010–12) 84.