Some paragraphs in this section have been updated, added or deleted since the publication of the current edition. The most recent updates, made July 2021, can be highlighted by clicking ‘Highlight updates’ below. Read a summary and schedule of latest updates here.

25.87Standing Order No 56 provides:

‘If, on a division upon a Bill, or upon a Question for the approving or disapproving of subordinate legislation, less than thirty Lords have voted, the Lord Speaker shall declare the Question not decided, and the debate thereon shall stand adjourned to a subsequent sitting; and, if such division take place when the House is in Committee, the Chairman shall declare the Question not decided, whereupon the House shall resume, and shall be again in Committee at a subsequent sitting.’1

There is no quorum for divisions on general or procedural questions.


  1. 1. For example, LJ (1981–82) 237; ibid (1983–84) 158; ibid (1985–86) 311; ibid (1987–88) 569; ibid (1996–97) 179; ibid (2002–03) 783.