1.10The number of Members for Scotland was increased by the Representation of the People (Scotland) Act 1832 from 45 to 53, 30 of whom were commissioners of shires, and 23 commissioners of burghs. Further changes were made by the Representation of the People (Scotland) Act 1868 and the Redistribution of Seats Act 1885. Under the Representation of the People Act 1918, Scotland returned 74 Members: 38 Members for 21 parliamentary counties; 33 Members for 13 parliamentary burghs; and three Members for four universities in one university constituency. This representation was not affected by the House of Commons (Redistribution of Seats) Act 1944, but the abolition of university representation under the Representation of the People Act 1948 reduced the number to 71, with provision for variation on the recommendation of the Boundary Commission. In 1983 this number increased to 72, and in 2005 it was reduced to 59, following the creation of the Scottish Parliament and a subsequent review by the Scottish Boundary Commission.1


  1. The Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 2005 (SI 2005/250). The Scotland Act 1998 (c 46), s 86, abolished the minimum of 71 constituencies for Scotland and required the Boundary Commission for Scotland, in its next report, to calculate the number of constituencies by using the electoral quota for England.